Diamonds. A world to discover!

THE 4 C’s

“How do you grade diamond quality?”

4 officially recognized fundamental parameters grade gems quality and allow to evaluate them. The 4 parameters, globally known as the 4 C’s are cut, clarity, weight, color.


The cut brings out diamond beauty more than any other factor. Cut proportions and precisions increase light reflections and refraction, emphasizing gems brilliance and scintillation.

The round cut diamond is the most popular diamond shape and is also called brilliant-cut, meaning these diamonds have 58 facets on three sections: table, crown (upper part), pavilion (lower part), girdle (edge running around the diamond), culet. (Figs 1,2)


Diamonds are the result of carbon crystallization under tremendous heat. They are placed number one in the scale of gems hardness. During its formation some imperfections (called “inclusions) might be generated. Inclusions are small black and/or white points visible only with a magnifying lens. The level of visibility and its related percentage grade diamond clarity by using a scale which goes from flawless gems (F=Flawless) to included gems (I=included). (fig.3)


The carat is the unit of weight of diamonds. Popular culture used to think that carob seeds have all the same weight and size and therefore they were ideal as a unit of measurement for weighing small items and gems. Only in 1832, the carob was defined when its relation with the units of decimal system was established. According to the International System of Units, the carat currently weighs 0,2 grams.


The total lack of color determines the best condition for light reflection. The light rays, reflected on the facets, make the diamonds shine as if they were magical gems. Diamonds are graded on a scale of D (colorless) through Z (light color). The less body color, the higher the value. (fig.4)


  • D-E = Exceptional white (River)

  • F-G = Rare white (Top Wesselton)

  • H = White (Wesselton)

  • I = Commercial white (Top Cristal)

  • J = Commercial white (Cristal)

  • K-L = Tinted white (Top Cape)

  • M-N-O = Faint yellow (Cape)

  • Z+ = Light yellow (Fancy Colour)